Civic awards

Learn more about our civic recognition programs. Nominations for Waterloo's Senior of the Year are open until March 31. Other awards are currently closed.

Council for the Day

In keeping with public health’s directive for social distancing to prevent the spread of COVID-19, we have made the difficult decision to postpone our annual state of the city event and its accompanying council for the day contest. We will inform the community when it has been rescheduled. 

Waterloo Award

The Waterloo Award is the city’s highest civic honour. It recognizes citizens for enhancing quality of life in Waterloo. Since its inception in 1997, it has honoured people for a variety of contributions and is open to all types of Waterloo citizens.

Congratulations to this year’s Waterloo Award recipients Eric Davis and David Marskell. Your contributions to our community make Waterloo a great place to live.


Nominations by immediate family members, self-nominations and posthumous nominations shall not be accepted. Current members of City of Waterloo council may not submit a nomination nor be eligible to receive the award. Other municipal, provincial or federally elected representatives or those running for those offices may submit a nomination but are not eligible to receive the award while in office. Current City of Waterloo employees may submit a nomination for others but are not eligible to receive this award.


City council makes the final decision on who wins the award, after a review committee made up of volunteers submits their recommendation to council. The winner(s) are notified in early September.


City of Waterloo council will acknowledge recipient(s) at a televised council meeting on Monday, October 28. Family and friends are encouraged to attend. Recipient(s) receive a handcrafted Waterloo Award pin.

Previous winners

Mark Whaley (1997) Tim Jackson (2009)
Bill Weiler (1997) David Graham (2009)
Eleanor Scully (1997) Carolyn Fedy (2010)
Betsy Abbott (1998) Charles Foy (2010)
Lori Strothard (1998) John Lynch (2010)
Tracey Johnston-Aldworth (1998) Laurie Strome (2011)
Tom Jeary (1999) Narine Sookram (2012)
Carol Moogk-Soulis (1999) Edwin Outwater (2012)
George Masurkevitch (1999) Cindy Watkin (2012)
Ellis Little (2000) Elaine Ormston (2013)
Dawna Saba (2000) Walter McLean (2014)
Brian Norris (2000) Frank Mensink (2014)
Terry Hallman (2001) Kenneth McLaughlin (2014)
Dennis Hartleib (2002) Neil Aitchison (2015) 
William Dailey (2003) Roger Farwell (2015) 
Angela Vieth (2003) Tricia Siemens (2015) 
Anne Morgan (2003) Georgia Cunningham (2016)
Mark Knight (2004) Robert Hennig (2016) 
Alan Morgan (2004) Dr. Howard Armitage (2017)
Brent McFarlane (2004) Rob Way (2017)
Douglas Letson (2005)  Isabel Cisterna (2018)
Marg Rowell (2006)   Eric Davis (2019)
Cliff Campbell (2006) David Marskell (2019) 
Terry Dorscht (2007)   
Eleni Stopp (2007)  
Murray Haase (2007)  
Michael Rowe (2008)    
Randy Warren (2008)    
Alan Chalmers (2008)    
Donald Cowan (2009)   

Waterloo's Senior of the Year

Each year, Waterloo's Age-Friendly Multi-Agency Committee presents the Waterloo's Senior of the Year to honour one local 65+ person who has made outstanding contributions to the community. If the senior you know lives in Kitchener, visit their site to nominate a Kitchener resident. 

Deadline for nominations is March 31, 2021.

Application process

  1. Review the eligibility criteria (PDF)
  2. Download, print and complete an application form (PDF).
  3. Submit by mail to:

Waterloo Senior of the Year
510 Dutton Drive
Waterloo, ON
N2L 4C6 

Past winners

2020 - Janet Hoffman

Janet Hoffman has been described as a “freelance volunteer.” She is not limited by organization or role but contributes where help is needed. Her contributions are holistic and collaborative: she recognizes what is required and sets about with others to make it happen. Among many other volunteer positions, Janet has been a regular volunteer with the Sunnydale Community Centre, a House of Friendship neighbourhood program, since 2007. 

2019 - Jean Hoffmann

Jean Hoffmann is a retired Waterloo Region District School Board elementary school teacher. Since retirement, Jean has devoted much of her time to assisting others in the City of Waterloo and surrounding area. “Tireless work in the service of others” is a theme of Jean’s volunteerism.

2018 - Maedith Radlein

A resident of Waterloo, Radlein is a retired Waterloo Region District School Board elementary school principal. She was recognized for her long-standing commitment to city and regional organizations, institutions, clubs and groups.

2017 - Rick Chambers

Rick's contribution to the community is far-reaching and he has long been recognized for his strength of leadership and character. His passion lies with promoting an age friendly community. He was chairperson of the City of Waterloo 55+ advisory board from 2013 to 2016.

2016 - Arlene Groh

Arlene is a nurse and consultant for Healing Approaches for Elder Abuse and Mistreatment, an organization which aims to provide opportunities for change and healing to communities affected by elder abuse. She coordinated the Restorative Justice Approaches to Elder Abuse Project and was a founding member of Waterloo Region's Elder Abuse Response Team.

2015 - Chris Baker

Chris was chosen for her impressive list of volunteer activities that have made a difference in shaping our community, including preparing food at RCAFA Wing 404, participating on Mayor's dinner committees, the social committee chair for the Old Salts Senior Canoe Club, garden volunteer and community ambassador for Parents for Community Living and long-time visitor to an older group of women living at senior retirement homes.

2014 - John Philips

John was recognized as a volunteer with the St. Jacob's Playhouse and at his church, an enthusiastic greeter of guests at the Adult Recreation Centre and piano player for the Senior Outing Day Program 

2013 - George MacAskill

George was honoured for his extensive community involvement spanning the last 30 years, including volunteering with the Manulife Financial LPGA Classic as a golf course marshal and the 55+ golf league.